I’ve wanted for a while now to post something close to my heart. Something I can inspire anyone who is willing to try.

That had to be something I am conversant with and passionate about.

Currently I have fallen in love with food creation. I’m talking about fun, quick and mostly healthy food creations.

Thanks to my roomie I play with food literally, to make fun foods that look good on camera. She allowed me to create sometimes last minute or just on the spot. If I’d go to the nitty gritty This blog would need a new title. (Will save it for a later time).

Another reason for this post is how my mom “THE greatest cook there is I know” told me my cooking had now surpassed hers (although I know she still reigns supreme. I occasionally ask her for tips here and there). If you can tell, this girl was giddy from head to toe 😁 I can proudly say I am my mama’s girl! And yes it’s a mark I’m willing to attain in this wholesome healthy eating journey.

In this post I want to give you tips on how to make food at home moreso if you have a busy schedule and takeout doesn’t feel healthy enough. I have joked about venturing full on to tackle nutrition because healthy eating and healthy living make my heart palpitate in glee. Who knows, I could actually do that- but that’s a story for another day as well.

Here are several of my tips to making home cooked meals and I hope to inspire you to cook some more and think out of the box when it comes to creating wholesome meals:

1. Don’t be afraid to try new things in the kitchen

Of course by now you’ve had many posts from foodies tell you about this. If you can’t tell, this is a favorite of mine. To be honest I get frights when it comes to cooking certain foods some because of them being an unfamiliar food and others because the phobia is ingrained deeply in me. For instance I fear making maize meal (ugali) so much so I get jitters thinking about how to make it. Whereas my roommate is the queen of making great ugali I totally suck at it.

Sometime back I decided to face my fear in the eye and gave making maize meal a hand, I must say I was proud of how it turned out. That said, I know my weaknesses so I eschew from making them but if I have to, I certainly will give it a try.

2. Love it and mean it- it will show

There is a saying that goes “made with love” and I can solemnly promise I try my best to create all the food I present with love. Somehow it gives me joy when the food is set at the table and the chow down is happening with great pleasure. If that means making two meals just to cater for someone else’s preferences I will do it wholeheartedly. I mean, who wouldn’t want food that has some thought into it rather than haphazardly served food?

3. Be open to learning from others

Well apart from passed on tips from family and friends the Internet tends to come in handy when you want to learn how to create great food. Find out different ways to make your food better, healthier or tastier than you conventionally do. Then make your own version that you like. Say if you have a food you don’t normally eat but is incorporated in the meal you’ve seen being made try a version that you’ll like. For me that would be foods containing gluten.

4. Work with what you have

Well, you don’t have to drain your pockets to create a certain meal, although that is highly likely-it’s happened to me severally.

Ha! That’s why I advise you to work with what you have. There’s no problem wanting more but with whatever you have you can actually make a wholesome meal that people can savor.

5. Use as many colors as you can

Your food doesn’t have to be bland. You could use certain spices and vegetables to give your meal flair. I like natural spices and fresh vegetables and I advise you to try it too. You’ll love all the flavors that come from mixing certain spices to make a meal that is to die for.

6. Don’t rule out eating out

It’s great to be served from time to time. If someone invites you out to eat or you crave for restaurant meals don’t hesitate to indulge. You’ll need to be extra cautious on the food you choose especially if you are on a healthy journey and afterwards detox if you feel the urge to do so.

7. Train your mind to eat certain meals and schedule the time if you can

It’s important to have a scheduled mealtime or certain foods to eat especially if your ultimate goal is to lose weight or maintain a healthy wholesome diet. I am big on sumptuous breakfasts if I had it my way I would make my mornings as breakfast banquets. I love a hearty early dinner later on during my meal plan for the day. In between I try to eat little to no food and so far my body has rewarded me to stay lean and I enjoy it. That said, I wouldn’t ask you to scrape off your lunch plans. I would ask you to know what makes you satisfied. For some it’s portion control to others it’s snacking throughout the day on healthy nibbles. Ideally it has to boil down to what fills you up and leaving you feeling like your best.

8. Snack

If you can’t last a whole meal to the next meal that you normally take, I’d suggest to eat or nibble on some snacks that are healthy for you. Nuts and fruits top that list for me and lately homemade popcorn is the queen of snacks in our household 😊 

9. Don’t forget to stay hydrated.

I’ll be the first to admit that drinking water is a challenge. Unlike most healthy folks I have to put some thought to it. Try different and fun ways to incorporate water into my meals. It helps you get off the bland taste of water and somehow makes it tastier. Add a fruit or cucumber to taste and voila a cool drink of water, literally!

You could also add some not so common water in the sense of coconut water, fresh juices or a healthy drink that is not so sugary.

If all else fails, just go the plain tall glass of water and stay hydrated 😊

10. Have fun!

Did you know that cooking for yourself is a stress reliever? A fun fact I spotted the other day. Drop in your favorite tunes as you prep and cook. Have a blast and just loosen up to what cooking from home is all about!

*************************************

Don’t hesitate to ask me for recipes for a certain food you have liked from the pictures here for you to try at home.

Ps: Most of the food pictures in here can be found on my Twitter timeline using the handle @denisetuyilife. There you will also get the recipes and ingredients used to make the various meals.
So there you have it, make food at home- Your body, mind, and pocket will thank you.

8 thoughts on “Home Cooking by Dee

Leave a Reply

