Posted in Dad, Family, Relationships, Stories From Dee

Dad

Whatever they say about time healing wounds is partially true and false.

True because there is that peace that comes even in the midst of all the uncertainty.

But then again their is that false notion of it all. Especially when you know that the more the years go by the more you’re likely to miss how they smiled, laughed at certain things and looked when they were angry.

To some extent time robs you of the very essence of your gone but not forgotten loved ones.

I would gladly write a thesis on that but today is not that day.

Today I want to look back to 19 years ago when I was little girl whose love of her father was as evident as the big smiles on the old pictures. Yes pictures because that’s what I have as the memory that is firmly etched in mind’s eye.

I will never see you with grey hair and wrinkled skin. I will never see you reclining on a rocking chair when I bring you grand kids. I will never see many things but one thing for sure dad! I never saw you angry no matter how wronged you were. I never saw you let someone feel unappreciated just because you were in a higher position than they were. I never saw you lay a hand on mama out of spite or contempt. And most of all I never saw you choose one child over the other even if it meant your ‘adopted’ children-uncles and aunts.

So daddy today I send you this love letter from my soul to yours written on this blog saying, thank you for being you. You went too soon to be with our Lord whom you loved above all else and when my time comes to be with you, I hope we dance and thank God for finally making all the tears, missing you and sweet memories come to a full circle ❀

Missing you tonight and always,

Your 7 year old girl who wept after seeing you through that tiny window as you lay motionless ending your 36 years as a father, friend, mentor and most of all great husband to your bride mama Bee 😍

Author:

Denise Tuyi is a creative, who has a penchant for writing and everything visual. She loves reading wild, family, faith, music, healthy living and traveling among other new, old and acquired beauties nature bestows on her. Photography, an acquired hobby that piqued her interest to create, is her driving force which she enjoys doing all the time. Mantra: "Peace. Love. Light"

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.